To: Provost Ira Katznelson

Cc: Dean Carlos Alonso, Dan Driscoll, Dean Soulaymane Kachani, and Dean Yinghui Mao

Dear Provost Ira Katznelson,

We, leaders and organizers across departments and programs at Columbia urge you to move promptly towards agreement with our union, Graduate Workers of Columbia-UAW Local 2110 (GWC-UAW). February 25 will mark two years since the start of bargaining. Two years is more than enough time to reach an agreement and we expect that the University takes this date seriously. Moreover, your bargaining team emphasized the importance of reaching a fair agreement—a commitment we hope you uphold. For student workers, a fair agreement is inconceivable without

- ✓ **Full recognition** of the NLRB-certified bargaining unit, which is consistent with the Bargaining Framework Agreement of November
- **Union shop**, which creates an equitable system of distributing the cost of union representation over all workers in the unit;
- **Real recourse** for cases of harassment and discrimination, which we demand takes a form of access to the grievance and arbitration procedure;
- **International workers rights** provisions that provide meaningful protections for when the international workers are most vulnerable and that can be enforced through the grievance and arbitration procedure;
- ✓ Improvements to compensation and health benefits that create a sustainable work environment for all, not just the ones who have a safety net for loss of funding or extraneous healthcare costs, especially in light of COVID-19 financial difficulties.

Last Spring, we voted 96% YES to authorize the bargaining committee to call a strike if needed to achieve a fair contract. We stand behind our mandate and are committed to organize for a strike to be ready to escalate if the University does not agree to a fair contract.

Eman Ahmed, Biological Sciences Virginia Osasumwen Aimiuwu, Genetics and Development

Yasemin Akcaguner, History

Arin Allahverdi Balalian, Epidemiology

Yash Amonkar, Earth and Environmental Engineering

Audrey Amsellem, Music April Ancheta, Nursing

Roi Ankori-Karlinsky, Ecology, Evolution and

Environmental Biology Joanna Arcieri, Communications

Hammad Ayyubi, Computer Science Tessa Bangs, Communications

Sam Bartusek, Earth and Environmental Sciences Iuri Bauler Pereira, Latin American and Iberian Cultures Oliver J. Bear Don't Walk IV, Biomedical Informatics

Sadie Bergen, Sociomedical Sciences Caitlin Blanchfield, Architecture Mohammadreza Bolandnazar, Business David Xu Borgonjon, East Asian Languages and Cultures

Arthur Boyle, Writing

Evan Brown, History

Isabelle Bunge, Applied Physics and Mathematics

Samara Burns, Philosophy

Max Cabaj, Genetics and Development

Collin Cademartori, Statistics

Nicole Comfort, Environmental Health Sciences Alexandra McNabb Cook, Latin American and Iberian Cultures

Juliana DeVaan, History

Ana DiGiovanni, Psychology

Joshua Donovan, Contemporary Civilizations Phoebe Downer, Mailman School of Public Health

Danielle Drees, English and Comparative Literature -Theatre

Erica Eliason, Social Work

Jess Engebretson, English and Comparative Literature Vered Engelhard, Latin American and Iberian Cultures

Precious Esie, Epidemiology

Katryn Evinson, Latin American and Iberian Cultures Hannah Farkas, Sustainable Development

Jonathan Fetherolf, Chemistry Mia Florin-Sefton, University Writing

Cameron Foltz, East Asian Languages and Cultures

Caitlin Ford, Genetics and Development

William Frey, Social Work Zheng Fu, Sociology Naman Garg, Economics

Katy Gero, Computer Science Nicholas Giangreco, Integrated Program in Cellular, Molecular, and Biomedical Studies

Meredith Giovanelli, Mailman School of Public Health Will Glovinsky, Literature Humanities

Katy Habr, Sociology

Brittany Hale, Mailman School of Public Health Emily Hannigan, Mechanical Engineering Geoffrey Harmsworth, Classics

Kit Hermanson, Religion

Rachel Himes, Art History and Archaeology

Yarran Hominh, Philosophy John Hui, Computer Science

Sarah Inman, Sustainable Development

John Izzo, Classics

Jeff Jacobs, Political Science

Tess Wei-Ping Jacobson, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Sarandha Jain, Anthropology

Claire Jasper, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Alex Jensen, Philosophy Yulia Kim, Slavic Languages Benedikt Kloß, Chemistry Ben Kodrès-O'Brien, Communications Sydney Krueger, Psychology Aya Labanieh, University Writing

James LaBelle, Political Science Parijat Lai, Economics Francisco Lara Garcia, Sociology

Colleen Larkin, Political Science

Natan Last, School of International and Public Affairs Max Lawton, Slavic Languages

Emma Le Pouesard, Art History and Archaeology August Leinbach, Law

Linda Li, Social Work

Maggie Li, Environmental Health Sciences

Hedwig Lieback, Political Science

Nicolas Longuet Marx, Sustainable Development Tim Lundy, Literature Humanities

Victoria Lynch, Environmental Health Sciences

Nadeem Mansour, Middle Eastern, South Asian, and

African Studies

Chrystal Mavros, Genetics and Development

Matt Mazewski, Economics Umberto Mazzei, Italian Lorenzo Mecozzi, Italian Noah Mintz, French

Rachel Misner, Biological Sciences

Shazia Mitha, Nursing Sophia Mo, French Victoria Mooers, Economics

Asher Morse, English and Comparative Literature Masha Mukhanova, Nutritional and Metabolic Biology

Vaishnavi Murthy, Electrical Engineering Bernadette Myers, Literature Humanities

Miriam Nielsen, Earth and Environmental Sciences Mariana Noé, Classical Studies

Stefan Norgaard, Urban Planning

Maria Nuñez, Microbiology and Immunology Oluremi C. Onabanjo, Art History and Archaeology

Lionel Ong, Political Science Claire Palandri, Sustainable Development

Uma Payne, Slavic Languages Erin Petrella, Classics

Savvas Petridis, Computer Science

Charles Pletcher, Classics

Annie Potter, English and Comparative Literature -Theatre

Rani Rachavelpula, Philosophy Vinay Raghavan, Electrical Engineering

Akshay Ragupathy, Anthropology Garima Raheja, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Sevita Rama, School of International and Public Affairs Lisa Randolph, Neurobiology and Behavior

Noah Rauschkolb, Mechanical Engineering Dilip Ravindran, Economics

Domonique Reed, Epidemiology

Tiana Reid, Literature Humanities

Jorge Alejandro Rodriguez Solorzano, Anthropology Sebastian Rowland, Environmental Health Sciences

Sohee Ryuk, History Amogha Sahu, Philosophy Claudia Sbuttoni, Italian Margaret Scarborough, Italian Jessica Schwartz, Nursing

Ian Sewell, Music

Jenni Shearston, Environmental Health Sciences

Rohini Shukla, Religion Bonnie Siegler, Sociology Ben Silver, Psychology Meredith Slopen, Social Work Gabriel Solis, History

Mava Spaur, Environmental Health Sciences Mandi Spishak-Thomas, Social Work Ranjani Srinivasan, Urban Planning

Sam Stella, Religion Liza Stewart, Writing

Elliott Sturtevant, Architecture

Divya Subramanian, Contemporary Civilizations Carolyn Swope, Urban Planning

Mitchel Sybesma, Chemistry Lilith Todd, University Writing

Alex Valin, English and Comparative Literature Julian van der Made, Earth and Environmental Engineering

Anna Vannucci, Psychology

Chloe Vaughn, Germanic Languages

Eduardo Vergara Torres, Latin American and Iberian Cultures

Bryan Wang, Biological Sciences Andrew Wilson, Sustainable Development

Angela Woodall, Communications Monika Yadav, Sociology

Adelina Yankova, Communications Viktoriya Zhuravleva, Neurobiology and Behavior

