See below for the official notice of the Bargaining Committee Election on February 23.  More information, including candidate statements, can be found on the GWC-UAW Local 2110 website.


An election for the GWC-UAW Bargaining Committee (10 positions) will take place on:

Election Date: Thursday, February 23, 2017

Voting Times and Locations

Morningside: 10am-6pm, in Nous Café/Graduate Student Center (Philosophy Hall)

CUMC:            10am-6pm, in Hammer Health Sciences Building Room LL1-104

Lamont:          10am-2pm, in Geosciences entrance

The following are candidates in each of the five (5) jurisdictions. Each jurisdiction will have two (2) positions on the bargaining committee.

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, natural sciences

Trevor Hull

Daniel Iascone

Takaya Uchida

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, humanities and social sciences

Rana Baker

Kate Jackson

Sophie Wilkowske

School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Olga Brudastova

Noura Farra

Mohammed Shaik

Columbia University Medical Center/Public Health

Christian Aurup

Ian Bradley-Perrin

Justin Steinfeld

Professional/other schools (School of the Arts, Journalism, SIPA, Business, Professional Studies, GSAPP, Social Work, and Law, etc).

Paul Carpenter

A.L. Hu

Joscelyn Jurich

Rosalie Ray

Voting in the election shall be at large and shall not be restricted by jurisdiction. Voters, regardless of department, shall be entitled to vote for up to two (2) candidates in each jurisdiction, for up to ten (10) candidates.

Eligible voters are union supporters who are Columbia graduate and undergraduate students who are currently employed by the university, have been employed by the university in the past, or whose program includes a degree requirement to be employed by the university in one of the categories outlined by the NLRB decision (i.e. graduate and undergraduate Teaching Assistants, Teaching Fellows, Preceptors, Course Assistants, Readers, Graders, Graduate Research Assistants [including those on Training Grants], and All Departmental Research Assistants).  If you meet the above criteria and have not signed up for the Union previously, you may do so at the polls in order to vote.

Ballots will be counted after the polls close at Brownies Cafe (basement of Avery Hall).

A run-off election, if necessary, will be held on Wednesday, March 1, from 10am to 6pm. The locations will be announced if necessary.